Practicing Dentistry Without a License

10277molar_tooth

Texas Law
Occupations Code
Title 3. Health Professions
Subtitle d. Dentistry
Chapter 256. Licensing of dentists and dental hygienists
Subchapter a. Issuance of license to practice dentistry
Sec. 256.001. License required.
A person may not practice or offer to practice dentistry or dental surgery or Represent that the person practices dentistry unless the person holds a license Issued by the board.

Occupations Code
Title 3. Health Professions
Subtitle d. Dentistry
Chapter 264. Penalties and Enforcement Provisions
Subchapter d. Criminal Penalty
Sec. 264.151. Criminal Penalties.
(a) a person commits an offense if the person violates section 256.001.
An offense under this subsection is a felony of the third degree.
Each day of a violation is a separate offense.

Texas Penal Code
Third degree felony range of punishment
§ 12.34. third degree felony punishment.
(a) an individual adjudged guilty of a felony of the third degree shall be punished By imprisonment in the institutional division for any term of not more than 10 years or less than 2 years.
(b) in addition to imprisonment, an individual adjudged guilty of a felony of the third degree may be punished by a fine not to exceed $10,000.

Standard

Texas Law for Child Passenger Safety

Child-car-safety-

Transportation Code 545.412

•  All children younger than 5 years AND less than 36” required to be in the appropriate safety restraint system

•  Must be installed according to the manufacturer’s instructions, some prohibited from use on front seats

•  Anywhere child sits in a passenger vehicle 

–  Passenger car, truck, light truck, truck tractor, SUV

•  As long as there is an open seating position available equipped with safety restraint system/safety belt

•  NOTHING IN THE LAW SPECIFIES WHERE IN THE VEHICLE A CHILD MUST RIDE

•  It’s strongly recommended that all children less than 13 years old ride properly restrained in the back seat 

 

Transportation Code 545.412 Changes   SB 61

•  Requires all children YOUNGER than 8 years old UNLESS already 4’9” (1.45m) tall to be in the appropriate child safety restraint system (car seat/booster seat/safety vest) anywhere they sit in a passenger vehicle

•  Fines

– No more than $25 first offense

– No more than $250 second and subsequent  offenses

 

Transportation Code 545.413  (until 09/01/2009)

•  All occupants in front seat of passenger vehicles must be restrained by either safety belts or child safety restraint systems

•  All occupants younger than 17 in back seat must also be restrained by safety belts or child safety restraint systems

•  Both of the above: provided an open seating position equipped with safety system/belt is available

 

Transportation Code 545.413 Changes   HB 537  (Effective 09/01/09)

•  A person commits an offense if they are at least 15 years old sitting in anywhere in a passenger vehicle and not wearing a safety belt

•  A person commits an offense if they allow an occupant younger than 17 to ride unrestrained in a passenger vehicle

•  Both of the above: provided an open seating position equipped with safety system/belt is available

 

Definitions/Changes   HB 537

•  Passenger vehicle: passenger car, truck, light truck, truck tractor, sport utility vehicle – per 545.412 

• CHANGE: 12 & 15 PASSENGER VANS added, effective 09/01/09

•  Passenger car: vehicle designed to transport not more than 10 occupants including the operator – per 541.201(12)

 

http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/director_staff/public_information/carseat.htm

 

Standard